One of my favorite parts of the day is when I first wake up in the morning and pick out my outfit for the day.  In fact, some mornings, it is the only reason I can muster up the strength to actually get out of bed.  Let’s be real- I am a working mom of two precious, but often exhausting kiddos…ages 4 and 2.  #thismommaistired

Selecting my outfit usually begins with staring at my well-organized closet wondering which pieces will win the war that day.  This pensive period of time is almost always followed by several wardrobe changes.  After about three trips between my closet and the full length mirror, my husband shoots me “that look.”  The look that says, “Not again.  I just don’t get it.  What was wrong with the first outfit?”  Some mornings, when I let my perusing run too long, his look adds, “You know you wouldn’t be late to work if you didn’t change clothes ten thousand times.”  What does he know anyway?  The other day, he came out wearing plaid shorts and a striped polo.  Together.  With a straight face.  Thank goodness I stopped him before he hit the door. #whatwouldhedowithoutme

If it is a really good morning, one piece jumps out at me and becomes the foundation of my look.  Sometimes, if inspiration is sparse and grogginess prevails, I perform a quick search on Pinterest to find ideas about how to wear my #ootd.

I’m still recovering from grading over 400 essays this past weekend, so I was in desperate need of some serious #pinspiration this morning.  Lately, I have been feeling my army green skinny jeans.  When I searched Pinterest for “olive green pants outfit,” I found exactly what I needed to put together my super cute outfit.    **Side note: If you don’t have a pair of army green pants in your closet, drop what you are doing and get them.  They are seriously the cutest neutral for this Fall.**

pinterest-olive-green-pants-outfit

My “Pinspiration” today

 

img_7284
The look from my closet
I bought this top YEARS ago at Express (although they still have have it here) and the skinny jeans at Francesca’s toward the end of this summer.  I decided to top my look off with my black ankle booties for a Fall feel.

I consider it a total victory when my high school students, who are completely in tune with the hottest trends and styles, compliment my outfit.  One girl even went as far as to say that I am #lifegoals, and my outfit today was #onfleek.  Let me translate the teenager talk- I rocked my army green skinnies, polka dot blouse, and black ankle booties today. #micdrop

On a more serious note, I can’t wrap up this post until I take a moment to talk about this necklace.

I inherited this necklace from my grandmother, Dodo, when she passed away in 1997.  It has not only become one of my most prized possessions, but it is also a staple in my jewelry box.  I wear it when I want a piece that transcends all trends and never goes out of style.  I wear it when I want to feel her hug my neck.  I wear it when I know the day is going to be long and tough, and I need her strength.  I wear it so she can continue to see the world.  My world.  Just like her, this piece is timeless and will ALWAYS be a piece that I love…long after right now fades.

 

 

